Massive House Exodus Sparks Panic In Pelosi’s Administration

Kevin McCarthy can rest easy knowing he will succeed Nancy Pelosi as the new House Speaker after several key Democrats announce they will no longer seek reelection.

Three more Democrats in the House of Representatives have joined the wave of Congressional retirements, including a key centrist leader, as the 2022 midterm election cycle looms.

Stephanie Murphy, Democratic representative from Florida’s 7th Congressional District, and co-chair of the House Blue Dog Coalition, announced that she would not seek a fourth term in the House, saying that she wanted to spend more time with family.

“These last few years have been some of the most rewarding moments of my life, but also some of the most challenging. Public service is not without personal sacrifice, and as a mom of two young children, my time away from them has been hard. For them. For me. And for our family,” Murphy said in a video posted to her official Twitter account announcing her decision.

Murphy stressed that she was not leaving office out of “fear of losing reelection,” but because she believes in a “citizen Congress,” and that she did not intend to make political office her career.

Murphy’s retirement was joined Monday by the retirement of Democratic Representative Albio Sires, who has represented New Jersey’s 8th congressional district since 2006.

Sires, a Cuban immigrant from the New York City suburb of West New York, is expected to formally announce his plans before the end of the year. Robert J. Menendez, the son of current U.S. Senator Bob Menendez, is the front-runner to replace Sires, who himself replaced the elder Menendez when he was appointed to the Senate.

Murphy and Sires are joined by Democratic Rep. Alan Lowenthal, who represents California’s 47th congressional district.

The retirements of Murphy, Sires, and Lowenthal brings the total number of Democratic retirements in the House to 21, with just under a year left until the 2022 midterms.

. Notable retirements include former Congressional Black Caucus chairman G.K. Butterfield, current House Budget Committee chairman John Yarmuth, and longtime Texas Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson. Oregon Democratic Rep. Peter DeFazio also announced his retirement after the current term in a post on December 1.

The list also includes a number of sitting Congressmen who are leaving office to seek higher office. That list includes Pennsylvania

  • Rep. Conor Lamb
  • Rep. Val Demings
  • Rep. Tim Ryan, and Vermont
  • Rep. Peter Welch
  • Rep. Charlie Crist

Author:Sebastian Hayworth